How is compensation determined for a work injury?

Workers' compensation pays for necessary medical treatment, loss of wages during the disability, and compensation for permanent disability or disfigurement.

If an injured employee is unable to work for more than seven days, the employee is eligible for payment of lost wages. This compensation is limited to two-thirds of the employee's weekly wage and limited to the current maximum weekly wage in South Carolina.

If the employee is out of work for more than 14 days, the employee is entitled to compensation from the day of the accident.

The award for total disability or death is limited by law to compensation for 500 weeks.

Paraplegics, quadriplegics, and brain-damaged workers are eligible for lifetime benefits. Compensation for partial disability is determined by the Commission from medical reports, testimony of the parties, and the impact of the disability on the injured employee's livelihood.

If you have been injured at work and are unsure if you are being compensated fairly, contact experienced Myrtle Beach Workers' Compensation Attorney Dirk Derrick for a free consultation. 843-248-7486.

Attorney Derrick was voted BEST ATTORNEY by the readers of the Myrtle Beach Herald (2016-2017) and the Horry Independent (2014-2017.)

The Derrick Law Firm serves the state of South Carolina and has office locations in Myrtle Beach, Charleston, Conway, North Myrtle Beach, North Charleston, and Mt. Pleasant, SC.