Chandler's Law was vetoed twice by former Governor Mark Sanford, however, Gov. Nikki Haley has said she will sign it. Only a few of the aspects of the bill have been changed including a reduction in the minimum age for riders from 9 years old to 6 years old.
In recent years, fatalities resulting from children's use of ATV's has double in recent years. In fact, according to a national study, accident rates for riders under the age of 18 increased 150% from 1997 to 2006. Child safety advocates estimate that 450 children in South Carolina are treated for ATV-related injuries each year and brain injuries and spinal cord injuries are the most frequent. South Carolina is one of only 6 states nationwide that does not restrict ATV use by children.
The passage of this law, which many are calling common sense, would mean safer guidelines for those who enjoy ATV use. Chandler's Law would be there to protect young riders from the devastating effects of injuries resulting from unsafe use.