Can I text while driving in South Carolina?

Distracted driving has been on the rise and is increasing car accidents across the state.

In June 2014, South Carolina Governor Nikki Haley signed a law into action banning texting while driving. There was a 6 month grace period that ended near the beginning of December 2014.

Drivers may be found in violation of the law if they are seen composing, reading, or sending a message. A message can be described as a standard text, a SMS message, instant messaging, etc...

A driver may text if he or she is legally stopped at a red light or stop sign, is using a GPS tracking device, or is a public safety official on duty.  

Because of so many distractions, like texting and driving, accidents are happening more often.

If you become injured in an accident due to another's negligence you may need a personal injury lawyer to look out for your best interests.

Myrtle Beach Personal Injury Attorneys at The Derrick Law Firm have over 29 years of experience in personal injury including auto accidents, motorcycle accidents, slip and falls, workers' compensation, wrongful death, and insurance claims.

Voted Best Attorney by the readers of the Horry Independent and Myrtle Beach Herald, The Derrick Law Firm will work to get you the full value of your case.

Call today for your FREE consultation. 843-248-7486

The Derrick Law Firm serves the state of South Carolina and has office locations in Myrtle Beach, Conway, North Myrtle Beach, Charleston, North Charleston, and Mt. Pleasant.