As the summer begins, many people are flocking the the beaches and area lakes and rivers with boats, jet skis, wave runners, and other personal watercrafts. However, many are unaware about the laws in South Carolina regarding children and teenagers operating things like jet ski's and wave runners. The South Carolina Department of Natural Resources has created a free downloadable handbook known as The South Carolina Boating Handbook with sections specifically addressing use and operation of personal watercrafts.

According to the handbook, some of the general laws are:
-persons ages 16 and older can operate a personal watercraft with no restrictions
-persons under the age of 16 can drive a boat or personal watercraft less than 15 horsepower without restrictions
-children under the age of 16 can operate a boat or personal watercraft that is 15 horsepower or greater only when accompanied by an adult who is 18 years old or older and that person is not under the influence of drugs or alcohol
-anyone operating a personal watercraft must wear a Coast Guard approved personal flotation device

For more information on safety, restrictions, and laws for children and adults operating jet skis, wave runners, or other personal watercraft, the S.C. DNR has provided the handbook free of charge for download from there website. Click here to download your copy today.


If you are in need of a Myrtle Beach SC boat/jet ski accident attorney, Conway lawyer Dirk Derrick at The Derrick Law Firm has been handling boat/jet ski accidents, personal injury, and wrongful death claims in Myrtle Beach, North Myrtle Beach, and Conway SC for over 23 years. Please call 843-248-7486 today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment